The best New Year’s Eve parties from your favorite TV channels

New Year’s Eve parties (Thursday, December 31): Following the ban on all big public events amid reports of a new COVID-19 variant, two of South Africa's favorite youth TV channels - SABC1 and Channel O - have roped in a host of top local musicians to help citizens safely usher 2021 in style from the comfort of their own homes.


The Last Dance Music Festival; SABC1 New Year’s Eve special

The SABC1 will bring South African viewers one of the biggest New Year’s Eve music festivals on TV, ‘The Last Dance Music Festival‘, starting at 9pm on Thursday (December 31, 2020) – ending in the wee hours of Friday (January 01, 2021). 

Headline acts include sought after Mzansi artists and musicians such as Focalistic, Big Zulu and Sjava, ‘Jerusalema‘ breakout star Nomcebo Zikode, Costa Tich, Blaq Diamond, Khuzani, Makhadzi, Zanda Zakuza, Aubrey Qwana, Mnqobi Yazo and others.

Confirmed hosts for the event comprise of Nae The Bae (One Mic), Samora Mangesi (RGB), President Thato (YoTV), and Selby “Selbeyonce” Mkhize (Ukhozi FM).

The much-anticipated NYE’s event will also feature Mzansi’s finest DJ Shimza and DJ Sox during the DJ segment of the event that will well timed to usher the Mzansi nation into 2021.

Fact Durban Rocks; Channel O New Year’s Eve special

In the backdrop of the adjusted Level 3 lockdown and subsequent ban on all big events, South African music producer, DJ Tira, is taking the annual ‘Fact Durban Rocks’ event online.

The prerecorded 6-hour TV special, staged from the iconic Moses Mabhida Stadium will be shown on Channel O from 8pm on Thursday all the way to 3am the next day.

The party, which is usually attended by thousands of fans at People’s Park near Durban’s Suncoast Casino, the festival is sponsored by the KwaZulu-Natal Department of Arts and Culture.

It will be headlined by crème de la crème of the South African entertainment industry , including Babes Wodumo, Mampintsha, Sun-El Musician, Nomcebo Zikode, Zakes Bantwini, Blaq Diamond, Kamo Mphela, Tipcee, Shimza and DJ Tira among others.

Rspper turned TV presenter Zulu Mkhathini and Poli B have been roped as MCs, alongside everyone’s favorite entertainer and reality TV star Somizi Mhlongo-Motaung.